About the Museum
Dover Museum is one of the oldest museums in Kent. It was originally founded in 1836 and is now one of the county's premier tourist attractions.
In 1991 the museum was rehoused in a brand new three-storey building, situated behind its original Victorian facade. The history galleries tell the fascinating story of the development of the town and its famed port, using original objects, graphics and models.
A recent addition to the museum has been the Dover Bronze Age Boat gallery. This major archaeology gallery tells the story of the excavation and preservation of the Dover Boat. The gallery also explores major themes of the Bronze Age, using artefacts, replicas, models, video, computer interactives, hands-on exhibits and illustrated panels. See The Museum Collection.
Much of the information is presented in a range of languages - English, French, German, Spanish or Dutch.
The ground floor exhibition traces Dover's history
from the Stone Age to the Saxons. The exhibition includes information regarding the building of Dover's Roman forts, as well as gorgeous Saxon jewellery from the collections of the British Museum.
The first floor is devoted to a special exhibition which changes annually. In 2014, in honour of the centenary of the beginning of the First World War, the first floor is playing host to a fascinating exhibit, charting the effect of this transformative four year conflict on Dover, its people and the world in general.
The top floor gallery is the largest. Six scale models clearly show the growing town and port of Dover since medieval times, surrounded by cases of the best of the museum's collections. A central information desk gives guidance and information to visitors who wish to know more of Dover's past.
The top floor also houses the acclaimed Dover Bronze Age Boat Gallery. The Bronze Age Boat was discovered here in Dover and is of an international significance; it is the world's oldest known seagoing boat.
Visitor Services Enquiries
Dover Museum is happy to answer enquiries from the public. Any enquiries on all aspects of Dover's history should be sent to Dover Museum at the address above or e-mailed to firstname.lastname@example.org. Enquiries usually take up to 3 weeks to answer.
Dover Museum can provide scans, prints and transparencies of the objects in its collection, both for home study use and for commercial reproduction. Contact the museum for more details.
The museum has a comprehensive research and picture library on the history of the Dover District, with specialist archives on Cinque Port Pilots, Channel swimming, Channel shipping and the Ray Warner archive of 16mm film of Dover from 1945 to 1992. The research library is open Monday to Friday by appointment only.
The museum shop sells a large range of souvenirs and local history material including books and videos, including the 'History of Dover Harbour, 1920 to 1996', a DVD of archive footage of the development of the harbour and the cross-channel ferries and hovercraft.
We offer a mail order service for a selection of local history books and prints from the Dover Museum collection.
As well as local history enquiries, Dover Museum offers other local services access to our local history library by appointment; and the museum staff are able to give talks and conduct guided walks for organisations such as schools, adult education groups, Women's Institutes, Retirement clubs etc.